Making the Connection!

I know this post is a little late. Better late than never.

October 1st 2008 I spoke in Melbourne Florida. I gave my favorite presentation, “How To Change Your Life Forever In 90 minutes!” I had a great time and really connected on many levels with my audience! Here are few of testimoinails I received:

“Andy is as insightful as he is funny. He uses real experiences and stories to bring his point’s home.  That approach allows the audience to identify and personalize his message.”

“Andy Dooley shares from his heart, he inspires you to get out of your own way and to let go let it happen.”


“An awesome, funny, fantastic speaker, who made me see how I can change my life forever!”

Being a professional speaker I have learned that making an emotional connection with your audience is everything!!!!

How do you make an emotional connection? The three best ways are to, share personal stories, make them laugh and be real! NO BS! Audiences are smarter now then ever before! Being sincere and speaking from your heart and sharing your expertise is the best way to emotional connect!

Every time I speak I always add or do something new. In Melbourne, I added new important points about being open minded to changing your life. Because the thinking process and beliefs that got you here today, won’t get you were you want to be tomorrow! That means that in order to change your life you have to be willing to adopt new beliefs about yourself and what you are capable of manifesting.

When you look back at your own life you can see that every breakthrough you have had is because you broke through a limiting belief. You started beleveing something different about yourself or life and then your life changed.

I stressed how important it is to realize, that your past performance does not equal your present potenial. All your power is now! To often we get stuck thinking that we are our past performance!  Not true!

Another thing I love about speaking, are the moments of spontaneity, where I say something off the cuff, that is pithy and funny!

Fortunately, I was recording myself, otherwise I would not remember exactly how I said it and as you know the right wording in comedy is very important!

TIP for speakers: Always record yourself; you never know when you’re going to say something brilliant or funny!  If you’re recording yourself you can replay it and then rewrite it into your presentation.  This is the easiest way to improve your presentation.

There’s a first time for everything! Melbourne was the first time I was selling my artwork. I had 11 x 14 Indigo prints mounted onto illustration board, which are ready for framing. When I was displaying the prints I have to say they looked great! I was impressed with the printing and my own artwork.

Has that ever happened to you?  You created something and then afterwards you step back and are impressed with yourself?  It’s a great feeling!

I love creating artwork and felt very positive and confident it would be well received. But whether or not anybody would want to invest in my art and display it in there home or office is another story.

I brought with me 37 different prints of my artwork 13 different images. I sold 15 pieces of artwork! WOW! To think right now my artwork is hanging in someones home or office or home office. Everyday they see my artwork and it makes them feel good! That makes me feel great!

My mother Sheelagh Mawe was with me and she had a great time!

She received many wonderful compliments about her books ‘DANDELION’ and ‘HOW MOM GOT A LIFE.’ She was delighted and proud to see her youngest son finally doing something with his life.
Melbourne,Florida was the first stop in my Florida speaking tour.  More locations/dates coming soon!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Making the Connection!”

  1. Claire Says:

    Hi Andy,

    I LOVE your blogs! Thank you so much, they have been really useful and uplifting to me – and you do make me laugh! I shall definitely be recommending you to others. What a great family you are – and how lovely to realise that you are equally as illuminating and inspiring as your brother. Glad you’re not hiding your light under a bushel either! Thanks too for all your lovely (free) artwork and messages that pop into my mail box on a regular basis. I love the colourfulness of your designs. You’re lovely!

    Love Claire

  2. JUDITH Says:

    HI ANDY,
    What a wonderful breath of fresh air you are .I am brand new to your site,I sure am glad I followed your link. You are a work of art !How do I find out where your speaking engagements are.? Glad to meet you . JUDITH

Leave a Reply

